Social Media Tips for Marketing Downtowns

[tweetmeme source=”pagetx”]From time to time, I’m asked to speak at various regional and state conferences about social media marketing and other tourism-related topics.  My most recent request came from the Texas Downtown Association.  They asked me to present during a breakout session at their annual conference in El Paso, TX on November 11, 2010.

My presentation covers the use of social media to promote and market downtowns, downtown businesses,  and downtown attractions.  I’m co-presenting with Lisa Garibay with LARGetc.   Lisa is presenting on strategy development, and I get to show the participants some examples of types of content to use and some social media best practices.  In other words, the fun part!  Sorry, Lisa. 🙂

So here’s what I came up with.  My presentation – Social Media Marketing for Downtowns: Tips, Tricks & Cool Ideas To Steal – is linked below via Slideshare.  I’d love to know what you think.  Use the comments to tell me what I missed, offer differing opinions, or share your downtown social media success stories.  I can’t wait to hear from you!

3 Responses

  1. Great post Sarah! I love your social media examples. Thanks for including our GoWalla Trip Contest!

  2. Thanks so much, Katie! Thanks also for giving me such great content.

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Laura Short, Sarah Page, katie cook, Social Media, stephanie lynch and others. stephanie lynch said: @oldtowncape did you see this? RT @pagetx: Social Media Tips for Marketing Downtowns: http://wp.me/pt7a0-69 […]

Leave a Reply

