Social Media Marketing for #Arts Organizations

[tweetmeme source=”pagetx”]I got to do something pretty cool on Monday.  I was asked to present advanced social media marketing ideas to attendees at the State of the Arts 2011: Leading the Creative Economy Conference held in Austin, TX.  This conference was attended by representatives from various arts-related organizations from all over Texas.

Hosted by the Texas Commission on the Arts, City of Austin Cultural Arts Division, Texas Cultural Trust Council, and Texans for the Arts Foundation, this conference brought like-minded people together to discuss issues facing the creative economy.

My session was called “Taking Social Media to the Next Level: Tips, Tricks and Cool Ideas”.  It was meant for people who had been there and done that on Facebook and Twitter, and were ready to learn about some of the newer social media applications currently being used.  It was a packed house!  There were probably 120 people there – my largest audience to date.

In the presentation, I featured cool examples from other arts organizations that demonstrated what kinds of things are possible with social media channels like Foursquare, Gowalla, SCVNGR, Groupon, and Living Social.  We also covered some cool and geeky stuff like QR Codes, as well as some helpful tools like Nutshell Mail and Hyper Alerts.

If you’d like to see what we covered, the presentation from SlideShare is linked below.

The conference also announced its own hashtag (#LeadingArts), which was used by conference hosts, attendees, and non-attending eavesdroppers alike.  After my session, I reviewed the tweets using the hashtag to see what people had to say.

Here are a few of my favorites:

The tweet above is a reference to a line from the beginning of my presentation.  I often quote my friend Sheila Scarborough who says that social media isn’t free like free beer.  Instead, it’s free like a free kitten – one that requires care, feeding, and cleaning the litter box.  I use this line because there’s really no better way to explain it.  So props to Sheila!

One of the handouts I left with the attendees was a list of resources for more information on the subjects I presented.  Turns out, one of the articles I listed was co-written by Marc van Bree who attended the session.  This was a pretty cool “small world” example.

This is quite possibly my favorite tweet ever about one of my presentations.  I told them we would learn about some pretty geeky stuff, but I’m glad Jenn could see past the geekiness and let the cool shine through.

So thanks to my new friends in the Texas arts scene.  I thoroughly enjoyed spending some time with you.

7 Responses

  1. Sarah, This looks like a great presentation! You really know your geeky and cool stuff. Thanks for using some Austin examples!

  2. Katie,
    Thanks for that! It’s always nice to have such good examples to share. Keep the awesome Visit Austin stuff coming!

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sarah Page, Sarah Page, Nat'l Endow f/t Arts, Texas Arts, Karen Raymond and others. Karen Raymond said: Great blog by @pagetx re:her presentation on Social Media Marketing for #Arts Organizations « Tourism Tech http://bit.ly/hZGg1I #LeadingArts […]

  4. Sarah,

    I was too busy working the conference to meet you face to face, but I have really enjoyed “getting to know you” via twitter and blogging. One day, hope to say hi face-to-face!

    Thanks for coming!
    Brenda

    • Hey Brenda!
      Sorry we didn’t get to meet IRL too, but we’ll figure something out. Twitter is a great way to connect with some awesome folks. I’ve met some wonderful people (actually in person) from relationships that developed online – mainly Twitter, but via blogging too. Social media rocks! 🙂

  5. Hi Sarah,

    This looks like another wonderful presentation. I just know you did a great job! So sad to have missed it IRL. Thanks again for using several examples from Abilene, Texas!

    • Thanks so much, Shanna! It’s a whole lot easier when I have such cool examples to share. Thanks for all you do in Abilene, TX. You guys are really way ahead of the curve when it comes to social media marketing. I’m happy to let people know about the good work that you all do there. Keep it up, Sister! 🙂

Leave a Reply

