Social Media and Simple Acts of Kindness

KINDNESS[tweetmeme source=”pagetx”]This isn’t a cheesy post about how happiness makes the world go ’round.  Instead, it’s a true story about three people who just wanted to help each other out.  This story does have a happy ending, but there’s a twist.  Read on.

A couple of weeks ago I got a DM from David Kaufman with DK Worldwide.  David and I have never met IRL, but have chatted with each other via Twitter on several different occasions.  His DM said that he had a friend living in Austin, TX who was interested in getting into marketing.  He asked if I would mind sitting down with her for a few minutes to see if I could offer her any insight into marketing, and just do some networking with her.

To some of you, this might seem like an unusual request.  To meet with someone I didn’t know?!  On the recommendation of  someone else I didn’t know?!  Crazy, right?  Not to me.  I have first-hand experience with the incredible power of social media – mainly Twitter.  There are several people who I consider to be trusted friends and colleagues who I initially “met” through exchanges on Twitter.  I’ve been fortunate to actually meet some of them in person, but many still remain as mainly online relationships.

So when David asked me to meet his friend, I really didn’t hesitate.  If I could do something to help someone for the price of a cup of coffee, what kind of person would I be if I didn’t?

About a week later, I met Kristi Richey for coffee near my office.  As it turns out, she is a delightful person and we really hit it off.  I was able to give her a few names of people she should talk to, and she helped me think about some things in a new way.  Win/win.

After our meeting, I sent a DM back to David to let him know that Kristi and I had enjoyed a good chat over a tasty cup of coffee.  He thanked me for spending my time with her, and we went on about our regularly scheduled business.

Today in the mail (yes, the real mail) at my office, I received this:

This is the nicest thank you note I have ever received.  Hands down.  I literally got a little misty when I read it.

All of this story is really to relay two main points:

  1. Our actions matter – Even those you consider to be small, easy, or just good manners.  What we do can have an impact on someone else.  Make it a positive one.
  2. Social media fosters relationships – I know several people through Twitter that I know I could call in a pinch and they’d be there for me.  You know who you are.  I’ve expanded my personal and professional relationships in ways I never dreamed were possible.

So when a “Twitter friend” asks you to do a little networking, just do it.  Trust me, you’ll be glad you did.

Thanks, David, for making my day. 🙂

8 Responses

  1. And of course I saw this thank you to a thank you via a Tweet.

    To Sarah’s readers, feel free to follow me for random acts of kindness. @dkworldwide

    And Sarah feel free to link to my syndicated column, http://dkworldwide.com/techlife

  2. what a great story. you ARE a very real person, sarah… a treasure, as David and Kristi discovered. thanks for the reminder about how simple kindness can reach so far.

  3. Great story, whether one believes in eastern philosophy or just plain ole doin’ the right thing, it always comes back to you!

    thanks for sharing

    • You’re absolutely right, R.J. If we all just did the right thing, life would be a whole lot nicer for everyone. Thanks!

  4. Stumbled onto your blog via tag search. What a wonderful, “feel good,” story. Thank you for sharing it, and helping believe in human kindness even moreso.

    • Hi Regan,
      I’m so glad you found me! AND that you enjoyed the post. I hope to see you back here again sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

